British curriculum

British curriculum

A world-renowned educational model

The British curriculum, The English National curriculum, defines itself as the curricular structure used by schools in the United Kingdom to ensure that teaching and learning are carried out with balance and consistency.

Schools adapt this system to their own organization to better satisfy the needs of their students.

CThe following core subjects are taught in each of the stages: English, Mathematics and Science. Additional complementary subjects are: Geography, History, Technology, Art, Music, and Physical Education.

The objectives, the programmes, the subject matter, the techniques and levels of comprehension are supervised by the British Government.

At the end of the KS4 stage (which corresponds with Secondary School) students take the external IGCSE exams and, at the end of the KS5 stage (Bachillerato) they take the external A Level exams.

    The fundamental aspects of the British Curriculum can be summed up in the following points:
  • Creativity, autonomy and interaction are fomented.
  • Students work in small groups so that teachers can offer them more personalized attention.
  • Students are taught to work independently, as well as to participate in collaborative learning.
  • Documentation and research are fostered.
  • Critical thinking and creativity in problem solving are encouraged.
  • Freedom to think and debate in public in a coherent, constructive manner is fostered.
  • Weekly access to the form teacher is available and there is personalized monitoring by the stage coordinator.
  • The student’s evolution is discussed with the parents throughout the academic year.
  • The prestige and quality of the British educational system are widely recognized.

British curriculum